RevelationZ - Entertainment  That  Endures

Music - Quick Review - Virgin Steele - The House Of Atreus - Act I


Virgin Steele - The House Of Atreus - Act I


01. Kingdom Of The Fearless (The Destruction Of Troy)
02. Blaze Of Victory (The Watchman's Song)
03. Through The Ring Of Fire
04. Prelude In A Minor (The Voyage Home)
05. Death Darkly Closed Their Eyes (The Messenger's Song)
06. In Triumph Or Tragedy
07. Return Of The King
08. Flames Of The Black Star (The Arrows Of Herakles)
09. Narcissus
10. And Hecate Smiled
11. A Song Of Prophecy
12. Child Of Desolation
13. G Minor Invention (Descent Into Death's Twilight Kingdom)
14. Day Of Wrath
15. Great Sword Of Flame
16. The Gift Of Tantalos
17. Iphigenia In Hades
18. The Fire God
19. Garden Of Lamentation
20. Agony And Shame
21. Gate Of Kings


Barbaric Romantic / Concept / Heavy Metal

Released By / Year

SPV / 1999

Quick Review

"There's a Silence tearing up the ground
Freezing Heart and Shield and Bone
In their grasp I see you as you lay
Broken, cold beneath their Rage
We won´t turn away with eyes of the blind
There´s still Magick in our Souls
There is Magick still..."

One Word Review: Savage

This two-act concept album, inspired by a series of Greek tragedies written by Aescylus in the 5'th century BC (I have not read them), is an epic undertaking, and it suits Virgin Steele's raw, emotional approach beautifully.

Act I opens with a blast, as Kingdom of the Fearless (The Destruction of Troy) captures a grand, majestic atmosphere. You can imagine the fray of battle, amidst the powerful, bombastic music.

Already by the second song, it is clear that this undertaking is a feast of musical contrasts, as music and mood change with the story, from the most powerful, raging metal to the finest classical and acoustic passages, all the while keeping the emotional punch intact. Prepare to be entertained by this feast of musical storytelling.

Written By Steen
Online: Saturday, May 9, 2020

Video Section

Kingdom Of The Fearless (The Destruction Of Troy)